Jack Brandfield Trio


February 22

8:00 pm - 10:00 pm

doors open at 7:30

As part of our Student Jazz Performance Series, we present the Jack Brandfield Trio. This concert made possible, in part, with support from the Community Foundation of St. Joseph County's ArtsEverywhere initiative, from their grant for our Student Jazz Performance Series. 

"Jack’s playing makes me so happy! He’s full of melodies, swings hard and with conviction. We know that the vitality of swing jazz is in greathands with guys like Jack on the scene!" - John Pizzarelli


Jack will be joined with Luke Sittard on guitar and Scott Wente on bass.

Born and raised in New York City, Jack Brandfield is a jazz saxophonist who is currently majoring in Jazz Studies at Michigan State University’s College of Music. He cites Stan Getz, Ben Webster, Scott Hamilton, and Harry Allen as his primary influences. Jack is a torchbearer for the great swing tenor-men and interpreters of the American Songbook, and will continue this focus when he moves back to New York City after completing his degree in 2020. As a leader and a sideman Jack has performed with Rodney Whitaker, James Chirillo, Harry Allen, Pasqaule Grasso, Randy Napoleon, Konrad Pazskudzki, Neal Miner, Maucha Adnet, Dudaka Da Fonseca, Paul Keller, Mike Karn, and was most recently featured playing with John Pizzarelli on his radio show, Radio Deluxe with John Pizzarelli.


Jack fell in love with jazz at an early age. During his time at LaGuardia High School for the Performing Arts he studied intimately the music of The Great American Songbook under the mentorship of musician and teacher Kevin Blancq. As a member of Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Youth Big Band, Jack studied and worked with saxophonists Ted Nash and Melissa Aldana, and studied privately with saxophonist Dan Block. Jack also formed a relationship with saxophone giant Harry Allen, who is still one of his main mentors and influences.


Jack chose Michigan State University’s renowned Jazz Studies Program, led my Rodney Whitaker, to study with saxophonist Diego Rivera. He has played in jazz orchestras directed by Entienne Charles and Micheal Dease, and has performed with Randy Napoleon and the “Bass King of Michigan,” Paul Keller. Jack regularly plays throughout Michigan with his jazz trio. 


Community Foundation BW logo_k copy.jpg

© 2018 by MERRIMANS' PLAYHOUSE, INC. Proudly created with